LOVE LOST


I fell in love with the morning,
From the hush hush tone to your voice
And your eyes groaning with exhaustion
As you pulled through the covers,
Reaching for my hip bones
While your lips stole my phrases
And I thought, sweet!
Everyday with you felt like
Sweet strawberries on ice cream

That same morning I fell all over again,
In love with you I thought
With the Kafe downtown,
And how you asked for milk
But you actually meant cream

Yet, somewhere in between falling in love
With the love notes left on my bedside table
And giggling in chemistry class
I realised,
I’m only in love with the presence of your words
And the knowing, just maybe I could be loved
But I’m not in love with you.

-‘leye.

Leave a Reply

