THE COLOUR OF MY SKIN


Hey everyone, how are y’all doing? day? well, I’m great (the module I just had, splendid) and my day’s been basically SCHOOL.
… so here’s what happened this morning (not that it’s new, I’ve just had it with these people), I decided to use the lift ( l 🙂 l, I always use the lift) seeing that I was late for class, met a woman there, probably in her late 50’s and she scornfully mumbled something in rusky, my interpretation “Wait the next turn, I don’t want you contaminating my food!!”  Like, Seriously??
When would this leaf be lifted off their eyes??

9301tc

……………………………………………………………………………………………..

Racism, positivity flipped and reversed,
So, I’m condemned cos of the colour of my skin first
As the dictionary entry,”brown” changed to anomaly,
I remain divorced from society bodily

Honestly, I feel like a lost sheep chronology
Because when compared to others around me,
I was just another culture clone zoned
Amazing, how I could be surrounded yet feel disowned

The same species, but your venomous speeches
And dirty stares, left me screeching
I’m inferior, only cos I’m darker in complexion?
Why should  I stand discriminated for the way I’ve been created?

Yes, we may have been born with different pigments,
But have you seen a tree whose leaves are the same colour?
Yes, it may be true we follow different traditions
But ain’t that the same in your editions?

You think you know it but you don’t,
I didn’t choose the color of my skin
So next time you look at my face,
Don’t judge me by race.

…………………….. My #07

2 thoughts on “THE COLOUR OF MY SKIN

Leave a Reply

