THE TRANSITION


Image

#Z.C.K

Sitting with my pen glued to my hand, clueless on what to write, until my roommate asked for my opinion on picking a prom dress for her sister, this brought back memories of mine, so I decided to put my pen to paper, as y’all travel back in time with me you might not necessarily be thrilled, well I decided to write anyways.

My last term as a high school student, I had my mind set on a lot of things; my prom being a major, I couldn’t wait. I had mixed feelings of joy, excitement, anxiety that I slowly but surely was transiting into womanhood. Moving into the next phase of my life and finally leaving my father’s house to live on my own in a new environment, saw it as a form of adulthood at the time and somewhat form of sadness and gloom as it might be the last time set 2011 would assemble in the same place at a particular time, not like I particularly cared if I didn’t see some people again but that didn’t matter.

I didn’t get a dress; I could manage until the day before, seeing that I went on that hunt with my mom, y’all now how that often turns out. Reflecting on my ideal prom, a magical experience, guys in tuxedos, girls in dresses worthy of movie stars, prom dates, rented cars and the dance!!…no thanks to high school movies. I had my hair done, a complicated up do, got my nails done at some cheap place, didn’t have a manicurist.

Getting to the venue was awkward for a variety of reasons. My first issue was I didn’t get to ride with my date in a limo, as ideated, instead with daddy scrutinizing my dress as I rode with my parents to the venue. I was given a curfew, grumbling under my breath, “on my prom to”. The pockets of rowdy students standing around the premises with peering eyes caused tension.
The grand and stately facade of the building gave me hope, as we filed in. I thought this could actually be good. My second source of awkwardness was even though I had a date, we barely knew each other which allowed our conversation to often lapse into uncomfortable silences.

Sitting starring into space, acting like I was having the thrill of my life, I knew I was in over my head. Time to eat, dinner was excellent, aside the fact that I love food, I didn’t require an array of spoons, forks or a list of other items I didn’t know the names of, and etiquette wasn’t really required for this one.

The prom proper, this was when things really went downhill. The music was loud with disco lights, how to rock the floor was now the bone of contention, I didn’t know the; a b or c on how to move, sigh!!
There’s no other way to put this, for me, the prom was kind of lame. It wasn’t long before many of us got world-weary, drawing the curtains with a song by Whitney, this resulted in me and my friends crying on each other’s arms… #sad!

We stayed back for a while, couldn’t stay for too long though seeing that my parents waited. Even though we saw each other again at school, a lot of us started living in our minds, starting that night. I certainly did.

In a whole, the evening was neither good nor bad. It wasn’t the ultimate night I imagined it should have been, though I placed more emphasis on my prom than I’d like to admit, time has rewarded me with the perspective to see it as an interesting “blip” that has made my transition a memorable one.

5 thoughts on “THE TRANSITION

  1. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too great. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful site. christian louboutin mens shoes http://clmen2013.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

